Reviews · The Foundry

Movie Review: Dracula Untold.

Hi all,

Over the weekend Ali and I watched Dracula Untold, a movie that came out in 2015 staring Luke Evans, Charles Dance and Dominic Cooper. 

We originally watched it in the cinema, a loved it. It actually gave me a few idea at the time for a plot, which I may turn into a story later on. 

Just a warning, while my reviews don’t have many spoilers, there will be some from here on out. 

In any case we managed to catch it on to and were able to watch the whole film. Ali was a bit more excited then I, I knew we had watched it another time on tv but we weren’t sure. So it was ni e watching the movie again, with a bit more fresher eyes. 

I like Luke Evans as an actor, I feel he puts a lot of effort and passion into his roles. He plays Vlad, the ruler of a small kingdom bordering the Ottomans. He has a history with them, having grown up before leaving to rule his own kingdom. 

Vlad is a passionate man, one driven to protect those he loves. From his family to the people that look up to him, he cares for them all. With that the movie is very tragic, watching his decent into becoming a vampire. His whole character arc is very interesting to watch, his struggles, pain and joy. Luke Evans is able to express these clearly, each emotion is given the proper attention they deserve. 

Charles Dance while he did have a large role in being the vampire that gave Vlad his powers, he had very little to do throughout the movie. I was left with the feeling that while he he was mysterious and enigmatic, there wasn’t a whole lot more to him. Charles Dance can really play the brooding old type of characters, the one with knowledge but not caring to share. 

The plot was fairly generic, nothing really stood out for me about it. The ending was a little rushed and I feel like some of the internal mrchanics if the world were threadbare. 

The real delight was the filmography, I think I got the wird right. Seeing the sweeping landscapes, from the hills, to the mountains and then finally Vlad going full vampire on the Ottomans was a treat to watch. 

Overall I liked the movie, not anything to groundbreaking but it was a good addition to the fantasy action genre. I do hope Luke Evans dies continue to grow as a actor and land more roles. 

Anyway, what did you guys think of the movie? 

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Dracula Untold.

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

