On Writing · The Foundry

Writing with a bang and other thoughts

Hi all, Ru back here with another post.

Now I have started writing again in earnest, I have the drive to finish off my Nano 2016 story Collateral. should actually finish it in the next 2 to 3 weeks going at my current pace. Which is very good as I have slightly worried that this may be the third story I have left on the backburner. I had half started to think that if I didn’t finish a story in the initial run, and had to stop for whatever reason then I wouldn’t be able to get back into it.

So far I have been proved wrong, just over this weekend gone I have written 5474. If you go off purely by the number then that is a very good amount, after the last few months od doing relatively nothing.

I feel refreshed, the motivation is back and with it the discipline.

In situations like this the mind starts to wander onto other subjects, writing is good but that is not all that can fill time. So I have been researching other ways to write or things about it.

My mind has drifted to Self-Publishing.

Now SP is something that I have looked into before but never gave too much thought on. Why should I, when I would go the traditional route of getting an Agent and then a Publisher. Suffice to say I have been thinking and researching more about it, academically speaking of course. I have read up on people’s success and failure with SP, but over the last weekend, I have been watching Chris Fox videos on youtube.

He is an SP author and is very honest with his videos. He has given a lot of insight into the SP world, and how to succeed there. He has numerous books out on Amazon now and has done two series on how to write a novel in under a certain number of days. Overall a really nice chap, who wishes to help others.

He has given his own figures on how much he earns via SP, which he has put a lot of effort into. Sure there are a lot of drawbacks to it. You have to set your own launch date for the book, find an editor, create a cover, create an Amazon and so many other things. These are many things that I was aware of with SP, but I feel like Chris Fox has brought them out and has slowly dispelled a few myths in my eyes in regards to SP.

I do not know what the future will bring for SP, it does still feel like a turbulent market. Which could have a lot of ups and downs in the future, it is a market I am going to keep a better eye on.

The above is just some of my thoughts on the whole area of publishing, one that right now is fluctuating but growing stronger. I am still going to have a look at forums on both SP and the traditional route, best to have as much information on a subject before diving in.

In any case, I hope you all like the post, do you guys have any experiences regarding SP?

2 thoughts on “Writing with a bang and other thoughts

  1. Hi there ! I don’t normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

