The Foundry · Thoughts

Blog Makeover

Hi all,

I am back with another update, slightly different from my 2017 update. I have done up my blog, I have used the same theme but have done a massive revamp of the blog. Taken away some, added others. Over all I think my site looks fine, although a few more things I wish to update.

Ali and I spent around 5 hours over the weekend sorting out our blogs, we finally figured out how to set up pages correctly and assign posts. Very strange as we needed to get into categories instead of pages to get it sorted, instead of via Pages.  The tutorials and posts on how to set them up before were not making any sense until Friday night, I sat down and read numerous articles to get it sorted and we finally did.

Presentation is key, I wanted to get it sorted out for my blog and am glad it is finally done. Now my blog is more presentable and fits in line with what want. Which is a blog to post my ideas and thoughts, I didn’t want anything to fancy.

I have added a few more Pages now, from On Writing to my Reviews section. Which is good as I have now started to properly reviews things now, and am glad I can finally move them into the appropriate pages.  I have added a Contact Me page, which I think I will move into the About Me page. Or I may add it as a sub Menu under Contact me, I just need to make the layout correct before I go ahead with that.

I may update my picture, as it currently a little bit blurry. I need to go through my images and find the original picture I took of the candles, and re-size them. I feel like that will be my main priority over the next few days.

Last page I am thinking of adding is a Travel or Adventure page, these will be for posts I make of various places I have been to or events such as concerts that I attend. Not to fully sure on what type of post I want to do as of yet, for now I haven’t created it but you may see it on my blog over the next few weeks.

This post has been a bit of a ramble, but I am happy I have sorted out my site and hope you all like it.

From

Ru

16 thoughts on “Blog Makeover

      1. Hi,
        Very true, as you can see I started regularly posting in October last year. Since then i have been watching videos and trying to find out something to explain how to do what I want. It was only last weekend that we finally managed to figure it out and everything click.
        After Ali and I watching many videos to no avail.
        From
        Ru

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’ve inspired me to have a go, too. But by gum, do WordPress make things difficult!

        They try to make it easy to use, and they create a swamp filled with alligators…

        … blogger was far easier to customize, only their commenting system was so arcane that I dropped it.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hi,
        Glad I did, it took a while before I figured out. 🙂
        Never used Blogger, after doing a quick google search I have found it. Looks good, but now that I have been with WordPress I think I will stay here.
        From
        Ru

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I didn’t like Blogger because of the restrictions it put on commenting. It’s hard enough to get people to comment without putting restrictions in their way.

        Like

  1. Well, I liked the idea of having comments appear in a sidebar, but the clunkiness of the themes was oppressive.

    It’s more that so little can be customized without WordPress extorting some cash…

    … so having changed the font on my header, my site is staying pretty well as it is.

    Which is a pity, because on the whole, WordPress is a sensible system. If only they knew how to do business, they’d not have to squeeze pennies out of the likes of us.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I doubt for your needs that you’ll need a paid version. If you do, it’d be better to get your own website and install WordPress for yourself.

        When I still had my own website, I had a very simple HTML5 template that loaded in around 0,3 seconds. Great for pay per click advertising too…

        Like

  2. Keep us updated, I know I go through revisions of my blog too here and there. I like that you are going to add a travel and adventure page! Whoot! Whoot! If you’ve traveled enough to write a good portion on the subject, that’s awesome!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi,
      Thanks for checking out my blog. I may go through other revisions, may add a few pictures.
      I will be adding more travel post soon, my girlfriend and I are planning to travel around Europe and Asia soon.
      I have liked the look of your blog, very nice.
      From
      Ru

      Like

Leave a Reply

