On Writing · The Foundry

Second edit down, but still a long way to go..

A post about the first stage of editing, and how a book is fully formed

A mad new world

Today my mum came round for lunch, carting with her a hefty folder holding my novel so far, and two A-4 sheets covered in notes and ideas and revisions for it.

Bless her; she had trawled through 90,000 words of my ramblings and endless repetitions, just cause she’s my mum.

She said, and I quote-  “it’s good, it has the potential to get published (these were the magic words I was hoping to hear), but it still requires a lot of time and attention.” Luckily I was already aware of this.

I am currently in the process of writing a self help book, around the topic of recovery from serious mental illness such as schizophrenia or bi-polar disorder.

I personally have a diagnosis of paranoid schizophrenia, given to me eleven years ago when I was 20- and I won’t lie, the ride since then has been kinda bumpy.

I started…

View original post 933 more words

Leave a Reply

